7th Annual Research Symposium

The Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute Annual Research Symposium is a one day series of short lectures from principal investigators from across our different research streams. The symposium also includes a poster session involving our trainees, who are judged and awarded prizes for best presentations.

Program Schedule

Friday, May 27, 2022 | Theatre Dr, Health Sciences Centre

  1. 8:30 - 9:00 am

    Registration desk foyer of Theatre 4

  2. 9:00 – 9:05 am

    Welcome address and introduction of Dr. Miguel Ramalho-Santos by Dr. Jennifer Chan, Director of the Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute

  3. Keynote Lecture - 9:05 - 10:00am

    Virtual Lecture by Dr. Miguel Ramalho-Santos, Professor, University of Toronto


    “Exploring the high dynamic range of transcription in development, regeneration and cancer”


  1. 10:05 – 10:30 am

    Dr. Khara Sauro, Assistant Professor, Community Health Sciences,
    University of Calgary

    “Quality of head and neck cancer care: complexity and innovation”

  2. 10:35 – 10:45 am

    Hiba Omairi, Charbonneau Scholarship Award Winner Presentation: Director’s Scholarship Award, excellence in trainee leadership, volunteerism and mentorshi

  3. 10:45 - 12:30pm

    Poster Session in HRIC Atrium

  4. 12:30 - 1:30pm

    Lunch Buffet to registered attendees in HRIC Atrium

  1. 1:45 – 2:10 pm

    Dr. Pierre Billon, Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Calgary

    “Beyond CRISPR-Cas9: Next-Generation CRISPR technologies”

  2. 2:15 – 2:35 pm

    Dr. Anita Brobbey, Charbonneau Post-doctoral fellowship Award Winner Presentation: Supervised by Dr. Cheryl Peters

    "Estimation of radon exposure among indoor workers in Canada"

  3. 2:40 – 2:50 pm

    Mannat Bansal, Charbonneau Scholarship Award Winner Presentation: Daniel Family Foundation Scholarship Award, excellence in community engagement, impact and outreach 


  4. 2:55 – 3:15 pm


  1. 3:20– 3:35 pm

    Presentation of Poster Awards by Dr. Jennifer Corcoran

  2. 3:40 - 4:05 pm

    Dr. Ayan Chanda, Charbonneau Post-doctoral fellowship Award Winner
    Presentation: CSM-Ohlson Postdoctoral Scholar, Supervised by Dr. Pinaki Bose

    Identification of novel oncogenic drivers of oral cancer

  3. 4:10 - 4:30 pm

    Dr. Miranda Fidler-Benaoudia, Research Scientist,
    Department of Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention Research


    “Understanding outcomes for adolescent and young adults
    across the cancer continuum”

  4. 4:35 - 5:00 pm

    Dr. Gregory Cairncross, Professor, Department of Clinical Neurosciences,
    University of Calgary

    An ounce of prevention”

Keynote & Talks

Dr. Miguel Ramalho-Santos,
Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute


  • Dr. Gregory Cairncross | Professor, Clinical Neurosciences

  • Dr. Pierre Billon, Assistant Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

  • Dr. Khara Sauro | Assistant Professor, Community Health Sciences

  • Dr. Miranda Fidler-Benaoudia, Research Scientist, Community Health Sciences

  • Dr. Ayan Chanda | Postdoctoral Fellow

  • Dr. Anita Brobbey | Postdoctoral Fellow