University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Alex R. Cummings Trainee Travel Award

Alex R. Cummings Trainee Travel Award

The Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute is pleased to offer the Alex R. Cummings Trainee* Travel Awards.

These awards are valued at $1000.00 to support trainees’ travel who present at National or International conference or symposia. There are two awards each offered twice per year, as indicated below. (Additional awards may be awarded pending available funds)

*Trainees are defined as Full-time Graduate Students (MSc, PhD) or Post-Doctoral Fellows according to the University of Calgary regulations (within 5 years) of obtaining PhD and or MD


  • Trainee (registered full-time under the supervision of a Full Charbonneau Member)
  • Conducting research in the area of cancer
  • Presenting (oral or poster) as first author at an official conference or symposium
  • Individuals may receive this award once only per calendar year, and only twice at most during their graduate degree or post-doctorate
  • Priority will always be given to individuals invited to give a talk

Application Procedure

To be considered for a travel award, submit the following:

  1. A completed application
  2. A copy of the applicant’s submitted abstract with proof of acceptance for presentation
  3. Applicant’s curriculum vitae
  4. If available a copy of the Full Program must be provided

Send complete applications via email or departmental mail to:
Attention: Carmen Coelho |
3280 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T4N 4Z6

Decision Process and Notification

Award decisions will be based on the excellence of the submitted conference abstract and on the strength of the applicant’s scholarly record as judged by the Charbonneau Education and Training Committee.

Applicants will be notified of the award decisions within 30 days of the application deadline. Award winners must accept or decline their award within 48 hours of notification.

Registration Deadline:
November 1st (for conferences held between January 1st & June 30th of following year)

May 1st (for conferences held between July 1st & December 31st of same year)